Who Will Fight for Us

Who Will Fight for Us

I just so happened to start reading the book of Judges this morning. As it would turn out, the first verse is very appropriate for today as we will be voting on the candidate we feel is best for President. It begins quite simply:

“After the death of Joshua, the Israelites asked the Lord, ‘Who will be the first to go up and fight for us against the Canaanites?’”

I’m sure many have asked the Lord who they should vote for. I know I have. But I decided to do it again this morning. I asked specifically as this verse suggests. I asked who would be the first to go up and fight for ‘US’. The one I had formerly felt best about had a proven record of fighting to get things done; but I had to ask myself this morning, ‘What proof do I have that he would fight for us in all cases?’

“Who will go up and fight for us against the Canaanites?” The Canaanites occupied the land that God had given to Israel. The Federal Government is occupying more and more land and getting more and more into our business. There is really only one tool which will ensure the fighting is properly focused – the Constitution.

It goes on to say in this first chapter of Judges, after the Lord had showed them who he had chose to go up and fight, that the tribe asked another tribe to go with them. Together they fought and won many battles. It occurred to me, this person who goes up on our behalf, will not be going alone – as he has been to this point. He will ask some to go with him. And together I believe they will win many battles.

 

Leave a comment